Ottawa Gloucester Celtic win their second Challenge Trophy at the Toyota National Championships

Canada Soccer

Ottawa Gloucester Celtic men’s soccer team won their second Challenge Trophy as the Ontario-based club beat Edmonton Green & Gold at the 2022 Toyota National Championships. Ottawa won 2:0 in the Monday Final with goals scored by Kieran Sanders and Andrew Bryan. Bezick Evraire was selected as the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament.

Ottawa Gloucester Celtic won their first Challenge Trophy title in 2013 after a 3:0 victory over the Surrey United Firefighters in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

In the Monday Final, Ottawa’s starting lineup featured Corey Herrington in goal, Cameron Butterfield at right back, Panagiotis Manginas and Karl Bicamumpaka at centre back, captain Adam Davies at left back, Kieran Sanders and Nevelo Yoseke as central midfielders, Joey Kewin as an attacking midfielder, Olivier Babineau and Bezick Evraire on the wings, and Andrew Bryan up front. Kevin Asabre, Alex DeCouvreur, Félix Daigle (goalkeeper), Emmanuel Desjeunes and Justin Dasah featured as substitutes in the final, while Yale Chadsey and Jethro Pang dressed but did not feature. The team is managed by Matt Williams and coached by Phil Sangster.

Teck Finals Day for the Challenge Trophy was played on Monday 10 October at North Maple Soccer Fields. Referees for the Challenge Trophy Final were Robert D’Alesio as the Referee, Ian Adams and Mathias Diederichsen as Assistant Referees, and Sebastian Noshinravani as the Fourth Official. The women’s final was played one day earlier on Sunday 9 October at Vaughan Grove Sports Park with Holy Cross FC from St. John’s, Newfoundland Labrador the 2022 winners.

Canada Soccer’s Toyota National Championships serves as our nation’s premier amateur competition and provides a meaningful soccer experience for participating teams and their players, coaches, support staff, as well as for officials and volunteers.

1. ON | Ottawa Gloucester Celtic
2. AB | Edmonton Green & Gold
3. NL | Holy Cross FC
4. BC | Surrey BB5 United
5. MB | Winnipeg Hellas SC
6. NS | Halifax Dunbrack SC
7. PE | Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC
8. QC | Rapides Chaudière-Ouest
9. SK | Saskatoon SK Classicos

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!