Vancouver Whitecaps FC win the 2022 Canadian Championship Final

Vancouver win 2022 Canadian Championship

Vancouver Whitecaps FC won 5-3 on kicks from the penalty mark to win the 2022 Canadian Championship on Tuesday night at BC Place in Vancouver, BC. For Vancouver Whitecaps FC, it marks the second time they’ve hoisted the Voyageurs Cup as Canadian Championship winners.

The match featured 24,307 spectators for the Final at BC Place, the second-highest attendance ever for a Canadian Championship match. Vancouver Whitecaps FC’s Ryan Gauld was named the recipient of the George Gross Memorial Trophy winner as competition MVP. At the same time, Vancouver Whitecaps FC’s Ryan Raposo received the Best Young Canadian Player Award.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC’s Brian White scored first in the first half after netting a header assisted by a pass from Ryan Gauld from the right side of the box. Toronto FC’s Lukas MacNaughton equalized in the second half after he scored a header of his own with an assist from Federico Bernardeschi. Tristian Blackmon scored the winning kick to earn Vancouver their second Canadian Championship title.

Canadian Championship

Canada Soccer’s Canadian Championship, also known as the Battle of the North, is the nation’s highest men’s domestic competition featuring clubs from coast to coast across the country, notably professional teams in Major League Soccer and the Canadian Premier League as well as league winners in both League1 Ontario and Québec’s PLSQ (Première ligue de soccer du Québec). Winners of the Canadian Championship lift the Voyageurs Cup and qualify to the annual international competition, Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. Winners of the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League then qualify to the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008. Created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country. At the completion of the competition, the tournament MVP is named as the George Gross Memorial Trophy Award winner. The Young Canadian Player Award is awarded to the best Canadian player in the competition 23 years of age or under.

Canadian Championship Past Winners / Anciens gagnants du Championnat canadien
2022 : Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2021 : CF Montréal
2020 (2022) : Toronto FC
2019 : Impact de Montréal
2018 :Toronto FC
2017 : Toronto FC
2016 : Toronto FC
2015 :Whitecaps FC de Vancouver
2014 : Impact de Montréal
2013 : Impact de Montréal
2012 : Toronto FC
2011 : Toronto FC
2010 :Toronto FC
2009 : Toronto FC
2008 :Impact de Montréal