Surrey United SC win their 15th provincial title

Surrey United SC

Surrey United SC won the 2024 British Columbia women’s championship on Saturday 28 April after they beat Coquitlam Metro-Ford SC by a single goal for the second year in a row. Alanna Bekkering scored the 1-0 match winner at Starlight Stadium in Langford as Surrey United SC captured their 15th provincial title since 2004.

Bekkering, who earned Player of the Match honours in 2024, got the assist on Chelsea Harkins’ 1-0 match winner one year ago in the 2023 final at Burnaby. As 2024 provincial champions, Surrey United SC will represent British Columbia at the 2024 Toyota National Championships this October in Surrey, British Columbia.

In the BC Cup Final, Surrey United SC’s starting lineup featured Hannah Miller (goal), Kate Qually (captain), Chelsey Hannesson, Natalie Fabbro, Harman Billen, Chelsea Harkins, Karlee Pedersen, Caitlin Young, Alanna Bekkering, Elizabeth Hicks and Nikki Virk. In the second half, coach Spiro Pegios featured Jaya Bains and Yva Rodriguez as substitutes. Also dressed for the final were Kayla Klim, Courtney Duncan, Kristen Sakaki, Theresa Hicks, Simran Billen, Daniela Ramirez, Raechal Pelat and Gursimran Sekhon.

Surrey United SC are two-time Canada Soccer champions from 2006 (when the National Championships were hosted in Surrey) and 2011 (at Brossard, Québec). They captured 11-straight provincial titles from 2004 to 2014, then back-to-back titles in 2017 and 2018 as well as 2023 and 2024.