Jake Warren and Jane Pope named Newfoundland Labrador Players of the Year


Footballers Jake Warren and Jane Pope were named Newfoundland Labrador’s 2022 Players of the Year. Both players led their respective teams to provincial titles and medals at the Toyota National Championships, with notably Pope also named the Most Valuable Player of the women’s Jubilee Trophy competition in Vaughan, Ontario.

Pope helped St. John’s Holy Cross FC become the first Newfoundland Labrador team to win the Jubilee Trophy as Canadian champions. She was named MVP after she co-led the National Championships with five goals and she also recorded six assists in four matches. Warren, who previously won the men’s award in 2014, helped the Holy Cross FC men’s side win a bronze medal at the 2022 Toyota National Championships.

Alongside Warren and Pope, Jack Turpin (Paradise SC) was named the Youth Male Athlete of the Year while Madison Burke (St. John’s SC) was named the Youth Female Athlete of the Year. Other award recipients were: Jake Stanford (Holy Cross FC men and women) for Coach of the Year; Mohammed Ordan for Senior Official of the Year; Megan King for Youth Female Official of the Year; Aubrey Nunes for Youth Male Official of the Year; and Ron O’Neil for Executive of the Year.

To no surprise, Holy Cross FC women were named the Newfoundland Labrador Senior Team of the Year. From the youth level, Paradise SC U-17 boys were named the Youth Team of the Year.

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!