Hashimoto and LePine named 2023 PEI Soccer Players of the Year

PEI Soccer

Story by Richard Scott

Ben Hashimoto and Emily LePine were named Prince Edward Island’s 2023 Players of the Year. The two young Canadian footballers were honoured on Friday 24 November as part of PEI Soccer’s annual awards ceremony.

Merlin Devine (youth male), Joelle Bader (youth female, co-winner) and Emma Matheson (youth female, co-winner) were named the PEI Soccer Junior Players of the Year while the PEI FC U-15 Boys were named the Team of the Year. Steven Perry was named Coach of the Year, Brandon Lund was named Senior Referee of the Year, Bowen Wang was named Junior Referee of the Year, while Danny Hill and Brittany Pollock were named the New Referees of the Year.

Tara Wheeler won the Alan Godfrey Volunteer of the Year Award while Jade Archibald and Nate Shaw won the Lowell Stewart Memorial Award. Additionally for 2023, each club selected their own Volunteer of the Year.

Winners were: Eamon Dooley of Morell Strikers SC; Krista Feehan and Kelly Reardon of Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC; Mike Griffin of Stratford SC; Karen Keeler of North Shore Sharks SC; Jolene MacLeod and Matt Kenny of Eastern Eagles SC; Maria McMahon of Summerside United SC; Anne Morgan of Eliot River Ramblers SC; Doug Moss of Souris Lamplighters SC; Kim Munro of Central Queens Clippers SC; Jenna Reeves of Kensington and Area SC; and Sarah Richards of West Prince Storm SC.