Forge FC win the 2022 Canadian Premier League

Forge FC wins 2022 Canadian Premier League

Forge FC Hamilton won the 2022 Canadian Premier League Championship after a 2:0 win over Atlético Ottawa at TD Place Stadium in Ottawa, Ontario. The Sunday win marked Hamilton’s third Canadian Premier League playoff title in four years. Alessandro Hojabrpour and David Choinière were the Hamilton goalscorers while goalkeeper Triston Henry and his backline posted the clean sheet.

Both Hojabrpour and Choinière have each scored twice in Canadian Premier League playoff finals, with Hojabrpour previously scoring Pacific FC’s 1:0 winner in 2021 while Choinière previously scored in the second leg of Hamilton’s 2019 playoff title.

The 30 October 2022 final featured 14,992 spectators at TD Place.

Alessandro Hojabrpour opened the scoring with a first-half header brought on by a free kick, struck by Tristan Borges outside the Atlético Ottawa box. Late in the second half, Garvin Metusala played the ball down the wing to assist David Choinière in doubling the score.

In the Final, Forge FC Hamilton’s starting lineup featured Triston Henry (goal), Rezart Rama, Daniël Krutzen, Alexander Achinioti-Jönsson, Ashtone Morgan, Alessandro Hojabrpour, David Choinière, Tristan Borges, Noah Jensen, Aboubacar Sissoko and Woobens Pacius. In the second half, coach Bobby Smyrniotis featured Garven-Michee Metusala, Dominic Samuel, Jordan Hamilton and Malik Owolabi-Belewu as substitutes. Christopher Kalongo, Terran Campbell and Kwasi Poku did not feature while Kyle Bekker was unavailable through suspension.

Canadian referees appointed to the 2022 Canadian Premier League Final were Filip Dujic, Gabrielle Lemieux, Peter Pendli, and Alain Ruch.

Canadian Premier League
The Canadian Premier League (CPL), Canada’s Tier 1 domestic professional men’s soccer league, is in its fourth season in 2022, competing in the CONCACAF and FIFA sanctioned series of competitions. Playing in world-class and unique venues, and partnering with strong community-led ownership groups, the CPL brings top-tier professional soccer to eight communities from coast to coast. The CPL has announced plans to expand to nine markets in 2023 with a team in Vancouver.

Canadian Premier League Past Winners
2022 Forge FC Hamilton
2021 Pacific FC
2020 Forge FC Hamilton
2019 Forge FC Hamilton