Concacaf launches pathway for Concacaf W Gold Cup in 2024

Concacaf W Gold Cup

Concacaf has announced the pathway for the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup which will be played from 17 February to 10 March in the United States. Canada will have their first opportunity to qualify for this 12-nation tournament in September when they face Jamaica in the Olympic Qualifiers. The Concacaf W Gold Cup will be the region’s premier competition for women’s national teams and is a key part of the Concacaf W women’s football strategy that the Confederation launched in 2019. 

“This new Concacaf W Gold Cup will be the flagship event for women’s national team football in our region and will showcase some of the very best women’s football in Concacaf and the world,” said Victor Montagliani, Concacaf President. “The tournament will be a celebration of the work we have done so far, hand-in-hand with our federations, implementing our groundbreaking Concacaf W strategy, which was launched in 2019 to prioritise the growth of women’s football at all levels. While there remains more work to do, I believe we are now truly beginning to see the benefits of that strategy, not least through the performances of the record six Concacaf teams who have qualified for the upcoming FIFA World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.”

The tournament will feature a six-nation Preliminary Round and a 12-nation Group Stage, followed by a three-round Knockout Stage culminating with the Concacaf W Gold Cup Final on Sunday 10 March. More information on the Concacaf W Gold Cup is available at

The Concacaf W Gold Cup Group Stage will consist of eight Concacaf nations and four CONMEBOL guest nations. Currently the United States have a spot in the tournament after winning the 2022 Concacaf W Championship. They will be joined by the winner of the Concacaf Olympic Play-In between Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team and Jamaica scheduled in September 2023. From there, six more Concacaf nations will qualify through the Preliminary Round. The four CONMEBOL guests nations are Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, and Paraguay as determined by 2022 Copa America results.