Carlsberg Moments of the Month – May 2023

Carlsberg Moments of the Month – May 2023

Alphonso Davies wins Concacaf Men’s Player of the Year

Canadian footballer Alphonso Davies was named the Concacaf Men’s Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. The award was decided through a voting system that involved coaches, players, media, and fans from the region. Davies, who played for FC Bayern, became the first player to win the award back-to-back since its introduction in 2013. He also held the record for the most appearances by a Canadian player in the UEFA Champions League. Davies’ achievements included scoring Canada’s first-ever goal in the FIFA World Cup and helping Bayern win the Bundesliga and DFL Supercup.

Historic Day as Charmaine Crooks elected President and Project 8 Approved As League in Membership

Canada Soccer made history with the unanimous election of Project 8 as the nation’s new women’s professional football league. Scheduled to kick off in 2025, the league was officially approved as a Canada Soccer League in Membership. Charmaine Crooks was also elected as Canada Soccer President, becoming the organization’s first woman and person of color to hold the position. The Annual Meeting of the Members focused on bringing unity to Canadian soccer and maximizing the potential of the professional game for both men and women. The meeting also saw the appointment of other officers and the approval of new member Vancouver FC as a Professional Club.

Canada Soccer celebrates excellence through 2023 award winners

The annual Canada Soccer Awards Banquet celebrated several individuals for their exceptional contributions to the sport. Atiba Hutchinson, captain of Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team, received the Canada Soccer President’s Award for his leadership in leading the team back to the FIFA World Cup after 36 years. Francine Mérette was recognized with the Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award for her dedicated service in the finance department, ensuring the organization’s financial stability. Sylvie Béliveau, the former coach of Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team, received the Tony Waiters Coaching Excellence Award for her significant contributions to coaching over two decades. Drew Fischer was honored with the Ray Morgan Memorial Award for his progress as a referee at national and international levels, including appointments to prestigious tournaments. Dr. Clare Rustad received the Brian Budd Award for excelling in soccer and her profession as a family physician. John Eatmon was recognized with the Award of Merit for his significant contributions to soccer as a referee and instructor. Additionally, six Canadian soccer clubs, including North Shore United FC and Edmonton Ital-Canadians SC, were acknowledged as Organisations of Distinction for their positive impact on the game.

Canada Soccer eNational Team qualifies for 2nd FIFAe Nations Cup

Canada Soccer’s eNational Team secured their qualification for the FIFAe Nations Cup 2023 after a successful weekend of FIFA eFootball. Despite losing the semi-final match against the USA, Canada fought back through the second chance bracket by defeating Mexico and Panama. This will be Canada’s second consecutive appearance at the FIFAe Nations Cup. All matches were played in 2v2 format on the PlayStation 5 version of FIFA 23 using drafted FIFA Ultimate Team squads. Canada finished second in the group stage with a record of 4-3-3, earning 15 points overall. They then overcame Mexico in the second chance final, winning with an aggregate score of 7-1. Canada and the USA will join 23 other nations at the FIFAe Nations Cup in July.

FIFA World Cup 26™ Brand Unveiled

The official logo for the 2026 FIFA World Cup™, set to be hosted by the United States, Mexico, and Canada, was revealed in a ceremony at the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles. The logo prominently features the FIFA World Cup™ trophy and boldly displays the year of the tournament in the background. The launch of the official hashtag and motto, #WeAre26, aims to capture the diverse and vibrant stories of nations around the world, including Canada. The 2026 tournament will make history as the first to be jointly hosted by three countries and will see an expansion to 48 teams. Canada, with Vancouver and Toronto as host cities, will become the first nation to host five different categories of FIFA men’s and women’s international soccer tournaments.

Vancouver and Toronto Unveil Host City Brands for FIFA World Cup 26™

Vancouver and Toronto have unveiled their host city brands for the FIFA World Cup 2026™, showcasing their unique identities and excitement for the tournament. In Toronto, the brand incorporates blue and green colors and features the FIFA World Cup™ trophy, while Vancouver’s design represents the city’s natural beauty and vibrant culture. Both cities anticipate significant economic, cultural, and community benefits from hosting the tournament, including job creation, increased tourism, and improved soccer infrastructure. The FIFA World Cup 2026™ is expected to leave a lasting legacy, driving growth in community soccer participation and enhancing organizing capacities. Vancouver and Toronto are proud host cities ready to welcome the world to experience the magic of the tournament.

CanChamp Quarter and Semi-Finals played with eyes on Final in June

In the Quarter-Finals of the 2023 Canadian Championship, Forge FC Hamilton, CF Montréal, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, and Pacific FC emerged victorious, advancing to the Semi-Finals. Forge FC Hamilton secured their spot in the next round after a thrilling 3-2 win on penalties against Atlético Ottawa, with goalkeeper Triston Henry making crucial saves. CF Montréal, the 2021 champions, defeated Toronto FC with a 2-1 away victory. Vancouver Whitecaps FC dominated their match against York United FC, securing a convincing 4-1 win. Pacific FC emerged victorious with a 2-0 home win over TSS Rovers FC.

In the Semi-Finals, CF Montréal continued their strong performance, defeating Forge FC Hamilton with a 2-0 home win. CF Montréal’s goals came from Ariel Lassiter and Sunusi Ibrahim, with goalkeeper Jonathan Sirois and the defense keeping a clean sheet. On the other side, Vancouver Whitecaps FC showcased their prowess with a resounding 3-0 victory against Pacific FC. Julian Gressel, Ali Ahmed, and Simon Becher were the goal scorers for Vancouver, while goalkeeper Yohei Takaoka played a key role in preserving the clean sheet.

As a result, CF Montréal and Vancouver Whitecaps FC advanced to the Canadian Championship Final, which will take place at BC Place in Vancouver, British Columbia. Both teams will vie for the opportunity to lift the Voyageurs Cup and qualify for the prestigious Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. CF Montréal will aim to add another championship to their collection after previous victories in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2019, and 2021. Meanwhile, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, the reigning champions, are determined to defend their title and secure another shot at international success. The final promises to be an exciting clash between two formidable Canadian clubs.

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.