CANWNT to feature in the 2024 SheBelieves Cup


Canada will return to the SheBelieves Cup in April 2024. For the third time in four years, the Women’s National Team will compete against top-ranked teams in the United States-based tournament. Alongside Canada, this year’s competition features the USA, Brazil and Japan. The format will see four matches instead of the usual six, as the teams will compete in the Semifinals on 6 April to advance to the championship match or a third-place match on 9 April. Canada will face Brazil in the Semifinals on 6 April at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, USA.

“We are excited to participate in the SheBelieves tournament once again, providing us with meaningful competition against some of the best teams in the world. These are teams we would expect to see in Paris 2024,” said Bev Priestman, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach. “While we’re very familiar with Brazil, every time we play them is a battle with great learnings. Furthermore, to then get exposed to a completely different style of play three days later truly replicates an Olympic Games turnaround with the pressure, great crowds and exposure.”

2024 SheBelieves Cup Schedule

6 AprilUSA v JapanMercedes-Benz StadiumAtlanta12:30 ET
6 AprilCanada v BrazilMercedes-Benz StadiumAtlanta15:30 ET
9 AprilJapan v FieldColumbus, Ohio16.00 ET
9 AprilUSA v FieldColumbus, Ohio19.00 ET

​Canada has a long history with Brazil, having faced the nation 31 times dating back to 1996. The sides have been well-matched throughout the years with Canada holding a record of 11 wins, nine draws, and 11 losses. The two teams last met in a friendly series during the October 2023 FIFA international window, with Brazil posting a 1:0 win in Montréal, and Canada securing a 2:0 win in Halifax.

As Canada continues their preparations for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, they will begin the new year by competing in the first edition of the Concacaf W Gold Cup next month, before heading to the SheBelieves Cup in April. At the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup, Canada will face Group C opponents El Salvador or Guatemala on 22 February at 21.00 ET, Paraguay on 25 February at 17.00 ET, and Costa Rica on 28 February at 18.00 ET. All of Canada’s group stage matches will be played at Shell Energy Stadium in Houston, Texas. After round-robin play, the group winners, runners-up, and the two best third-place finishers will advance to the tournament’s Quarterfinals. 

Canada was the fifth nation to qualify for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, joining the hosts France, current Concacaf champions USA, and CONMEBOL’s top-two nations, Brazil and Colombia. A further seven nations have yet to qualify for what will be a field of 12, as Canada look to defend Olympic Gold from the Tokyo games.

Canada are Olympic champions (Tokyo in 2021), two-time bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016), and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and four consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2021). At Tokyo 2020, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team became the first Canadian team to win three consecutive medals at the Summer Olympic Games and just the third nation in the world to win three medals in women’s soccer.

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for eight editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all seven editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).