Canadian Championship welcomes League1 BC as new entrant for 2023


Canada Soccer’s Canadian Championship will welcome British Columbia winners from League1 BC starting with the 2023 season. Nicknamed Canada Soccer’s Battle of the North, the 2023 Canadian Championship will now feature teams from five different leagues: the Canadian Premier League, Major League Soccer, Québec’s Premier League (Première ligue de soccer du Québec), League1 Ontario, and League1 British Columbia.
“After a successful inaugural season, League1 BC is now a welcome addition to the Canadian Championship for the 2023 season,” said Dr. Nick Bontis, Canada Soccer President. “With teams from five different leagues across the country, the Canadian Championship provides an exciting pathway on the road to Concacaf Champions League and ultimate the FIFA Club World Cup.”
Inaugurated in 2008, the Canadian Championship is Canada Soccer’s highest domestic men’s football competition featuring clubs from coast to coast across the country. Along with every Canadian Premier League team plus Canada’s three Major League Soccer teams, the 2023 Canadian Championship will feature League1 BC Men’s Division Final winners TSS Rovers FC from Richmond, League1 Ontario Men’s Division winners Vaughan SC Azzurri, and Québec Premier League Men’s Division winners FC Laval.
Winners of the 2023 Canadian Championship lift the Voyageurs Cup and qualify for the 2024 edition of Concacaf Champions League. Details on the Canadian Championship’s 2023 draw and match schedule will be announced in early 2023.

Canadian Championship Past Winners / Anciens gagnants du Championnat canadien
2022 : Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2021 : CF Montréal
2020 (2022) : Toronto FC
2019 : Impact de Montréal
2018 :Toronto FC
2017 : Toronto FC
2016 : Toronto FC
2015 : Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2014 : Impact de Montréal
2013 : Impact de Montréal
2012 : Toronto FC
2011 : Toronto FC
2010 :Toronto FC
2009 : Toronto FC
2008 : Impact de Montréal