Canada wins 4:0 against Jamaica in the opening group stage match at the 2023 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship


Canada opened their group stage of the 2023 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship with a 4:0 win over Jamaica at Estadio Olimpico Felix Sanchez. The Friday win featured two goals from Player of the Match Annabelle Chukwu along with goals from Olivia Smith and Renee Watson in the second half. Faith Fenwick and her backline posted the clean sheet.

“We were excited to kick off the first match after Wednesday’s delay, so with these four goals and a clean sheet it’s a great start,” said Cindy Tye, Canada Soccer’s Women’s U-20 Coach. “I thought the team grew into the game and we were able to use our subs in order to implement a rotation strategy with three group matches in just five days.”

Canada’s next match group stage match will be against Panama on Sunday 28 May (18.00 local / 18.00 ET / 15.00 PT).


CAN 4 : 0 JAM
2023-05-26 Santo Domingo, DOMR
OneSoccer ; Estadio Olimpico Felix, att. 50
Referee / Arbitre : Marianela Araya (Shirley Perello, Lourdes Noriega, Sandra Benitez)

Goals / Buts
CAN 39′ Annabelle Chukwu (left foot / pied gauche) 1-0 (a. Olivia Smith)
CAN 45′ Annabelle Chukwu (right foot / pied droit) 2-0 (interception)
CAN 56′ Olivia Smith (right foot / pied droit) 3-0 (a.Florianna Jourde)
CAN 94′ Renee Watson (right foot / pied droit) 4-0 (a. Nyah Rose)

CANADA – 20 GK Faith Fenwick; 3 Ella Ottey (16 Renee Watson 63′), 4 Zoe Markesini, 5 Clare Logan, 18 Jeneva Hernandez Gray, 6 Thae Mouratidis,13 Florianne Jourde capt. (17 Kayla Briggs 63′), 2 Mya Archibald (19 Jadea Collin HT), 10 Olivia Smith (11 Rosa Maalouf 63′), 7 Amanda Allen (8 Ella McBride 80′), 9 Annabelle Chukwu (12 Nyah Rose 63′). Coach / Entraîneure Cindy Tye. Unused substitutes / substituts non utilisés : 1 GK Coralie Lallier, 21 GK Noelle Henning; 14 Sophie Murdock, 15 Jaime Perrault, , 

Performance Player of the Match / Performance Joueuse du match:
Annabelle Chukwu

Canada Soccer Flickr page / Page Flickr de Canada Soccer:

In the group phase, Canada will next face Panama on Sunday 28 May (18.00 local / 18.00 ET / 15.00 PT) and then USA on Tuesday 31 May (18.00 local / 18.00 ET / 15.00 PT). Canada’s matches will be broadcast live on OneSoccer, available as a linear channel on Telus Optik TV (Channel 980) and on streaming service fuboTV Canada, as well as online at, via Roku, Chromecast and Apple TV devices and through the OneSoccer app for iOS and Android devices. Throughout the competition, fans will find extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube featuring the hashtag #canw20.


Canada are Olympic champions (Tokyo in 2021), two-time bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016), and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and four consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2021). At Tokyo 2020, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team became the first Canadian team to win three consecutive medals at the Summer Olympic Games and just the third nation in the world to win three medals in women’s soccer.

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for eight editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all seven editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).