Canada to be featured on Sportsnet in June

Upcoming matches on 3, 8 and 12 June to be broadcast on Sportsnet

Canada’s upcoming Men’s International Friendly match and two FIFA World Cup Qualifiers will all be broadcast on Sportsnet in the month of June 2012. The three live broadcasts are scheduled for 3 June, 8 June and 12 June.

The men’s schedule kicks off with the Centennial Celebration Match on Sunday 3 June at BMO Field in Toronto, ON. Canada faces USA in this Men’s International Friendly, as both sides adjust their final preparations for the following week’s FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. The 3 June broadcast appears on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West and Sportsnet Pacific with a 19.00 ET / 16.00 PT start time.

The next match is Friday 8 June from Ciudad de la Habana (Havana), Cuba – the first match in Canada’s CONCACAF 3rd Round of the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers for Brazil 2014. The Friday match will also be featured on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West and Sportsnet Pacific, with a 13.30 ET / 10.30 PT start time for the broadcast.

Then on Tuesday 12 June from Toronto, ON, Canada’s second FIFA World Cup Qualifiers match will be broadcast live from BMO Field. This match will be broadcast on Sportsnet One with a 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT start time.

Tickets to Canada’s 2012 home matches are available via ticketmaster.ca or by phone at 1.855.570.7500, with full information available on CanadaSoccer.com. Group discounts are available via marketing@soccercan.ca or 613.237.7678. Beyond the matches on 3 June and 12 June, future home FIFA World Cup Qualifiers are Friday 7 September against Panama and Friday 12 October against Cuba.

From the goal out, Canada’s current squad features goalkeepers Milan Borjan, Lars Hirschfeld and Kenny Stamatopoulos, defenders David Edgar, André Hainault, Dejan Jaković, Ante Jazić, Mike Klukowski, Nik Ledgerwood, Kevin McKenna, and Ashtone Morgan, and midfielders/forwards Julian de Guzman, Dwayne De Rosario, Iain Hume, Atiba Hutchinson, Simeon Jackson, Will Johnson, Issey Nakajima-Farran, Olivier Occean, Pedro Pacheco, Samuel Piette and Tosaint Ricketts.

For full coverage of Canada’s road to the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™, fans can follow all the news at CanadaSoccer.com. Fans are also encouraged to connect with Canada’s national teams via twitter.com/CanadaSoccerEN, facebook.com/CanadaSoccer, flickr.com/canadasoccer, and youtube.com/CanadaSoccerTV.

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!