Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team to play Mexico in September Window 


Canada Soccer, alongside the Mexican Football Federation, has announced today that Canada’s Men’s National Team will play an international friendly against Mexico in the September FIFA Window. 

The match will take place on Tuesday, 10 September at AT&T Stadium, in Arlington, Texas. The match will serve as preparation for the 2024-25 Concacaf Nations League and the ongoing journey towards the 2026 FIFA World Cup, for which Canada will co-host with Mexico and the United States. 

“We are thrilled to announce another high-quality opponent for a friendly with our Men’s National Team,” said Kevin Blue, incoming Canada Soccer General Secretary and CEO. “Continuing to play against the top teams will greatly increase our preparations for major tournaments on the road to our home FIFA World Cup.” 

This will mark Canada’s first meeting with Mexico since 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying, in which Canada was victorious in a 2-1 win on 16 November 2021 at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, AB in a match that would be later be dubbed as ‘The Battle of Iceteca”. Canada’s next previous meeting was also in 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying, in which Canada and Mexico drew 1-1 at Estadio Azteca on 8 October 2021, Canada’s first point at the Azteca since 1980. Canada could still face Mexico in the 2024 Copa América, should Canada qualify and both teams advance to the knockout sages. 

Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team will face Trinidad & Tobago on 23 March in the Concacaf Nations League Play-In for one of the final two places at the 2024 Copa América competition this coming summer. The winner of the Play-In match will join already qualified Concacaf countries – Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, and the United States – along with the winner of the additional Concacaf Nations League Play-In match played on 23 March between Honduras and Costa Rica, for a total of six Concacaf guest nations in this summer’s tournament. Should Canada qualify, they will be placed in Group A alongside Argentina, Chile and Peru. They will also feature in the tournament’s debut match, against the current world champions Argentina.