Canada MNT readies for Czech Republic

Fans can watch the Canada v Czech Republic friendly live Friday on Sportsnet One at 11.00 ET / 8.00 PT.

Canada’s Men’s National Team is fit and ready to go in its first of two men’s international friendlies this month, facing Czech Republic this Friday (kickoff 17.00 local).

All 22-players trained at the Andruv Stadion, which is the site of Friday’s game against the Czech Republic in Olomouc, CZE.

“We need to test our level with teams that are above us,” said Head Coach Benito Floro of the prospect of playing against the team that’s 27th-ranked in the latest FIFA rankings.

Much of the camp has been focused on team tactics with Floro, and the players, talking about the importance of when and how they should be pressing defensively, both as individuals, and as a collective unit.

BROADCAST ALERT: Fans can watch the Canada v Czech Republic friendly live Friday on Sportsnet One at 11.00 ET / 8.00 PT and the Canada v Slovenia friendly live Tuesday 19 November on Sportsnet One at 12.00 ET / 9.00 PT.

Coming up against a team with some very high-profile names, the Canadians will be getting quite a test of their progress.

“It’s been good in training,” said Floro after the team’s training session at the stadium. “Now it’s necessary to test (what we’ve learned) in the match.”

The team will remain for one more night in Olomouc after the game Friday before returning to Bad Waltersdorf, AUT on Saturday for some final preparations in advance of Tuesday’s friendly against Slovenia.

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.