Canada in sixth place on Concacaf Ranking Index for June 2019

Since March 2018, Canada have climbed 54 points on the Concacaf Ranking Index

Canada remain in sixth place on the Concacaf Ranking Index after the group phase of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup. The latest ranking, published 26 June 2019, features Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama and Canada amongst the top-six in the region.

Launched in March 2018, the Concacaf Ranking Index determines the “qualification for important regional and international championships.”

Since March 2018, Canada have climbed 54 points on the Concacaf Ranking Index, from 1,448 points in March 2018 (seventh place) to 1,502 points in June 2019 (sixth place). Canada moved into sixth place in April 2019 after their Concacaf Nations League Qualifying campaign wrapped up in March with a 4:1 win over French Guiana at BC Place in Vancouver. Junior Hoilett, Lucas Cavallini (two) and Jonthan David were the goalscorers in the 24 March victory.

After a 2:0 exhibition victory over Trinidad and Tobago in June, Canada finished second in their Concacaf Gold Cup group with six points after a 4:0 win over Martinique, a 1:3 loss to Mexico, and a 7:0 win over Cuba. With 12 goals scored, Canada set a Men’s National Team record for goals in the group phase of the Concacaf Gold Cup. David is currently the top scorer in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup with five goals followed by Cavallini with four. Hoilett (two) and Scott Arfield have also scored for Canada at this year’s Concacaf Gold Cup. 

Top-10 nations on the Concacaf Ranking Index (as of 26 June 2019)
1 Mexico  2,009
2 USA 1,827
3 Costa Rica 1,776
4 Honduras 1,641
5 Panama 1,158
6 Canada 1,502
7 Jamaica 1,473
8 Guatemala 1,428
9 El Salvador 1,427
10 Haiti 1,392

The Concacaf Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the confederation. Drawing large crowds and millions of television viewers from across the region, the Concacaf Gold Cup is a celebration of soccer, sportsmanship, and culture. For the first time, the 2019 Concacaf Gold will feature 16 participating nations, three host countries, and 17 venues.

Beyond the Concacaf group phase, the top-two teams from each group will advance to the Quarterfinal matches on 29-30 June. The Concacaf Semi-finals are 2-3 July and the championship Final is Sunday 7 July.


“Following a strong showing in Concacaf Nations League Qualifying, we need these tougher tests now,” said John Herdman, Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team Head Coach. “The Concacaf Gold Cup will be important for our preparations for FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. We have a talented group, but now they will be fully tested in a tournament setting. The team are motivated to do well for Canada.”

Canada are two-time Concacaf champions, having won the Concacaf Championship in 1985 and the Concacaf Gold Cup in 2000. In winning the 1985 Concacaf Championship, Canada qualified for the 1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico™; in winning the 2000 Concacaf Gold Cup, Canada qualified for the FIFA Confederations Cup Korea/Japan 2001>

Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won two Concacaf titles: both the 1986 and 1996 Concacaf Men’s Youth Championships. Canada have qualified for eight editions of the FIFA U-20 World Cup and six editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup. is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys