Canada-Guatemala match on Rogers Sportsnet

Canada : Guatemala (match tracker)



Canada’s men’s national team will play Guatemala on Saturday 16 June in the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinal in Foxboro, MA. Canada advanced to the quarterfinal after finishing first in Group A with two wins and a loss. The match will be broadcast on Rogers Sportsnet at 16.00 ET (13.00 PT / 14.00 MT / 15.00 CT / 17.00 AT).



Canada, now ranked sixth in CONCACAF, last played Guatemala in 2004 during World Cup qualifying. Canada lost 0:2 in Burnaby on 18 August, but then won 1:0 in Guatemala City on 17 November (Dwayne De Rosario scored the lone goal). Canada’s last game in Foxboro was a 2:1 victory over Cuba at the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup (Ali Gerba scored once and Cuba put in an own goal).

Canada : Guatemala (match tracker)



Canada’s men’s national team will play Guatemala on Saturday 16 June in the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinal in Foxboro, MA. Canada advanced to the quarterfinal after finishing first in Group A with two wins and a loss. The match will be broadcast on Rogers Sportsnet at 16.00 ET (13.00 PT / 14.00 MT / 15.00 CT / 17.00 AT).



Canada, now ranked sixth in CONCACAF, last played Guatemala in 2004 during World Cup qualifying. Canada lost 0:2 in Burnaby on 18 August, but then won 1:0 in Guatemala City on 17 November (Dwayne De Rosario scored the lone goal). Canada’s last game in Foxboro was a 2:1 victory over Cuba at the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup (Ali Gerba scored once and Cuba put in an own goal).



Goalkeeper Pat Onstad is expected to start as Greg Sutton is still not 100% recovered. Gabriel Gervais has returned home to recover from his injury while Rob Friend has left the team per previous plans (his marriage on 16 June).



In other CONCACAF Gold Cup action today, USA will face Panama in Foxborough, Mexico will face Costa Rica in Houston, and Honduras will face Guadeloupe in Houston.

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.