Canada finish in second place in group stage at the Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship


Canada finished in second place in their group at the Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship following a 5:2 loss to group winners USA. The two sides had already qualified for the Concacaf Semifinals, but through the standings they learned that USA will face Costa Rica while Canada will face Mexico in Friday’s first opportunities to qualify for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in 2024.

“I challenged them at halftime to be resilient, play the way that we play and be brave; they did just that by scoring those two goals,” said Cindy Tye, Canada Soccer’s Women’s U-20 Coach. “I’m proud of the girls, this was their first shot against a tier-one opponent. You could really see the growth from one half to the next, so we’re just going to carry that forward as we work toward the next two matches. We’re a fit team, we’re a deep team and we’re going to need everyone to qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.”

Ally Sentnor and Giselle Thompson were the American goalscorers in the first half before both sides scored two goals each in the second half. Amanda Allen scored on a penalty, Ally Sentnor scored for the Americans, then Nyah Rose completed the scoring. Goalkeepers Coralie Lallier and Teagan Wy each had a turn making an excellent save in the second half.

With three matches in five days and amazingly still a fourth match inside eight days this coming Friday, Canada were careful across their substitutions in order to be fresh for the Concacaf Semifinals. Canada lost one substitution through the Sophie Murdock injury in the first half and ultimately played the last 10 minutes with just 10 players after Amanda Allen was pulled off injured.

With two goals in the second half, it also marked the first time since 2006 that Canada scored twice against USA at a Concacaf women’s youth tournament. Allen scored her 12nd career youth international goal while Rose scored her fifth career goal.


CAN 2 : 5 USA
2023-05-30 Santo Domingo, DOM
OneSoccer ; Estadio Olímpico Félix Sánchez, att. 75
Referee / Arbitre : Katia Garcia (Mijensa Rensch, Iris Vail, Sandra Benitez)

Goals / Buts
USA 3′ Ally Sentnor (right foot / pied droit) 1-0 (Interception)
USA 11′ Ally Sentnor (right foot / pied droit) 2-0 (a. Jasmine Aikey)
USA 45′ Giselle Thompson ( PK right foot / pied droit) 3-0
CAN 54 Amanda Allen (PK right foot / pied droit) 3-1
USA 55′ Ally Sentnor (right foot / pied droit) 4-1 (a. Shae Harvey)
USA 60′ own goal/but contre son camp 5-1
CAN 67′ Nyah Rose (right foot / pied droit) 5-2 (Ella Ottey)

CANADA – 1 GK Coralie Lallier, 2 Mya Archibald, 14 Sophie Murdock INJ (5 Clare Logan 27′), 4 Zoe Markesini, 3 Ella Ottey, 18 Jeneva Hernandez Gray (8 Ella McBride HT), 6 Thae Mouratidis (13 Florianne Jourde 72′), 7 Amanda Allen, 17 Kayla Briggs, 10 Olivia Smith (11 Rosa Maalouf HT), 9 Annabelle Chukwu (12 Nyah Rose HT). Coach / Entraîneure Cindy Tye. Unused substitutes / substituts non utilisés : 20 GK Faith Fenwick, 21 GK Noelle Henning;15 Jaime Perrault, 16 Renee Watson, 19 Jadea Collin.

Group A / Groupe A
9 pts (+13) | USA
6 pts (+ 6)  | Canada
3 pts (-  5)  | Jamaica
0 pts (-14)  | Panama

Performance Player of the Match / Performance Joueuse du match:
Zoe Markesini 

Canada’s matches will be broadcast live on OneSoccer, available as a linear channel on Telus Optik TV (Channel 980) and on streaming service fuboTV Canada, as well as online at, via Roku, Chromecast and Apple TV devices and through the OneSoccer app for iOS and Android devices. Throughout the competition, fans will find extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube featuring the hashtag #canw20.


Canada are Olympic champions (Tokyo in 2021), two-time bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016), and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and four consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2021). At Tokyo 2020, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team became the first Canadian team to win three consecutive medals at the Summer Olympic Games and just the third nation in the world to win three medals in women’s soccer.

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for eight editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all seven editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).