Canada faces France for Olympic bronze

Canada to face France in bronze medal match at 08.00 ET / 05.00 PT.

Canada will face France in the London 2012 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament bronze medal match this Thursday 9 August. The two teams will meet at the City of Coventry Stadium at 13.00 local, with the winner then heading down to Wembley Stadium in London to watch the gold-medal match between Japan and USA.

“The girls will be ready to go,” said Canadian head coach John Herdman. “We’ve shown them a little clip from the Prime Minister as well as some messages from some Canadian sporting heroes. The girls know they have touched a bit of the country.”

After advancing beyond the group phase, Canada won its quarter-final match 2:0 over host Great Britain in front of a partisan crowd at the City of Coventry Stadium on 3 August. The team then traveled to Manchester where it battled USA in a memorable 3:4 a.e.t. semi-final clash at Old Trafford Stadium. The team is now back in Coventry where it hopes to receive the support of the “local” crowd – this will be Canada’s fourth match in Coventry since the start of the London 2012 Olympics.

Back in Canada, the match can be watched live on CTV, RDS and CTVOlympics.ca at 08.00 ET / 05.00 PT. Later in the day, the Japan-USA match will kick off at 19.45 local (14.45 ET / 11.45 PT) at Wembley in London. That match will be followed by the medal ceremony for the gold, silver and bronze-medal teams.

For full coverage of Canada’s road to the London 2012 Olympics, fans can follow all the news at CanadaSoccer.com. Fans are also encouraged to connect with Canada’s national teams via Twitter.com/CanadaSoccerENFacebook.com/CanadaSoccerFlickr.com/canadasoccer, and YouTube.com/canadasoccertv.

Schedule & Results

Check out Canada Soccer’s Schedule & Results page where you can find upcoming match schedules and past results leading to highlights, photos, match data, and more.