Canada faces Brazil to close out group phase

Canada will close out the group phase against host Brazil at the Torneio Internacional Cidade de São Paulo this Wednesday 15 December. The match kicks off at 20.00 local at the Estádio do Pacaembu (17.00 ET / 14.00 PT).

For more information on this match, please visit the following fixture link.





Canada will close out the group phase against host Brazil at the Torneio Internacional Cidade de São Paulo this Wednesday 15 December. The match kicks off at 22.00 local at the Estádio do Pacaembu (19.00 ET / 16.00 PT).



This will be the first of back-to-back matches between Canada and Brazil. Both sides have already qualified for the tournament final which kicks off on Sunday 19 December at 19.00 local (16.00 ET / 13.00 PT). In Brazil, both the Thursday and Sunday matches will be broadcast by Band Sports, Band Internacional and Fox Sports.



Canada, whose title sponsor is Winners and presenting sponsor is Teck, enters the match with eight consecutive victories dating back to the 30 September home match against China PR at BMO Field in Toronto. This will be the first Canada-Brazil meeting since 10 July 2008 at BMO Field in Toronto – a 1:1 draw shortly before the 2008 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.



This time, Brazil will have the home fans on its side. Ranked third overall in the world, Brazil has finished second at each of the last two major women’s international events. It won a silver medal at the Beijing 2008 Olympics behind USA and won a silver medal at the FIFA Women’s World Cup China 2007 behind Germany. Brazil’s top player is Marta, the four-time FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year (2006-2009). On 20 July 2007, Marta scored five times against Canada at the Pan American Games in Rio, Brazil.



As for Canada’s top player, it is captain Christine Sinclair who has scored four goals in her last three matches dating back to the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifier championship match. After two matches at the II Torneio Internacional, Sinclair has three goals while leader Marta has four goals. It was just less than three months ago that Sinclair and Marta shared the Women’s Professional Soccer Championship as teammates with FC Gold Pride.



All time, Canada’s record is an even three wins, one draw and three losses against Brazil. In this tournament, both Canada and Brazil won both matches against Netherlands and Mexico. Canada is in first place with a better goal differential, but the Thursday match will decide who finishes first after three matches.

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!