Alphonso Davies wins 2022 Canada Soccer Player of the Year

Player of the Year

Alphonso Davies from Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team has been named the Canada Soccer Player of the Year for the fourth time in five seasons. Davies won the 2022 award after the Men’s National Team returned to the FIFA World Cup for the first time in 36 years and he scored the program’s first-ever goal on the world’s biggest stage. He helped his professional club FC Bayern win both the 2021-22 Bundesliga and 2022 DFL Supercup in Germany while also becoming the all-time Canadian leader in UEFA Champions League appearances. 

Davies was the lone Canadian attacker to play every minute at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 and he scored the opening goal of Canada’s second group match against the eventual bronze medal winners Croatia. It was the most-watched soccer match in Canadian television history with 4.4 million average viewers across TSN, CTV and RDS.

Across the calendar year, the 22-year old Canadian from Edmonton, Alberta finished tied for second on Canada with three goals in seven international matches and he earned Canada’s Player of the Match honours in both a Concacaf Nations League win against Curaçao and the FIFA World Cup loss to Croatia. He earned Canada Soccer Player of the Month honours in April, June and November.

At the club level from January through December, Davies made 27 appearances for FC Bayern across the 2021-22 and 2022-23 seasons, notably helping his club win the 2021-22 Bundesliga title by eight points and lead the 2022-23 campaign by four points through the December break. He helped FC Bayern reach the UEFA Champions League Quarterfinals in 2021-22 and then reach the knockout phase with a perfect 6-0-0 record in the 2022-23 group phase. Across the past five seasons, he has featured in a Canadian record 26 UEFA Champions League matches.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Canada Soccer Player Awards, with co-winners Jessie Fleming (Women’s National Team) and Alphonso Davies (Men’s National Team) selected the Canada Soccer Players of the Year in a vote shared by Canadian media and coaches. Alongside the 2022 Canada Soccer Players of the Year, Simi Awujo and Ismaël Koné were named the Young Players of the Year, Daniel Chamale was named the Futsal Player of the Year, and Samuel Charron was named the Para Soccer Player of the Year. 

Davies is now in his sixth international season with Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team, having made his international “A” debut for Canada on 13 June 2017. He has scored 13 career goals in 33 international “A” matches and he is the Men’s National Team’s all-time leader with 16 career assists. He follows Charmaine Hooper, Christine Sinclair and Dwayne De Rosario as just the fourth player to win the Canada Soccer Player of the Year award four times.

2022 Canada Soccer Player Awards
Canada Soccer Para Player of the Year – Samuel Charron
Canada Soccer Futsal Player of the Year – Daniel Chamale
Allstate Good Hands Award – Milan Borjan
Canada Soccer Young Players of the Year – Simi Awujo and Ismaël Koné
Canada Soccer Players of the Year – Jessie Fleming and Alphonso Davies

Past Player of the Year Winner
2022 Alphonso Davies & Jessie Fleming
2021 Alphonso Davies & Jessie Fleming
2020 Alphonso Davies & Kadeisha Buchanan
2019 Jonathan David & Ashley Lawrence
2018 Alphonso Davies & Christine Sinclair
2017 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2016 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2015 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2014 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2013 Will Johnson & Christine Sinclair
2012 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 Craig Forrest & Christine Sinclair
1999 Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 Mark Watson & Janine Helland
1996 Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper
1993 Alex Bunbury