West Ottawa SC win the 2023 Challenge Trophy at the Toyota National Championships


West Ottawa SC won their first Challenge Trophy as national amateur men’s champions on Teck Finals Day Monday at Canada Soccer’s 2023 Toyota National Championships. Making their first-ever appearance in the competition, the Ottawa club won 1:0 in the Challenge Trophy Final on a goal by Zach El-Shafei against local side Western Halifax FC at Mainland Commons in Nova Scotia. Javane Henry was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

West Ottawa SC were the second Ottawa team to win the Challenge Trophy in as many years as they follow 2022 winners Ottawa Gloucester Celtic FC.

In the Monday Final, Ottawa’s starting lineup was Anton Favre in goal, Hasan Mohasar at right back, Isaac Johnson and Brady Curkovic at centre back, Emad Houache at left back, Daud Dahir, Ricky Comba, Sebastian Rodriguez and Zach El-Shafei in the midfield, and Javane Henry and Ayden Harris up front. Marco Natoli, Marco Bastianelli and Malek Belhaj featured as substitutes in the Final, while Mitch LeClair (goalkeeper), Simon Rochon, Matias Markus, Owen McKee, Mahir Hadziresic (injured) and Jack Pensom (suspended) did not feature. The team is managed by Head Coach Stephen O’Kane.

Teck Finals Day for the Challenge Trophy was played on Monday 9 October in Halifax. Referees for the Challenge Trophy Final were Mario Al-Ayass as the Referee, Camille Raymond and Kurtis Kozack as Assistant Referees, and Ben Hoskins as the Fourth Official. Also on Teck Finals Day, Holy Cross FC women won 2:0 over CS Mont-Royal Outremont to capture the Jubilee Trophy.

Next year’s Jubilee Trophy Final will be played in Surrey, British Columbia as part of Canada Soccer’s 2024 Toyota National Championships in October.

Canada Soccer’s Toyota National Championships serves as our nation’s premier amateur competition and provides a meaningful soccer experience for participating teams and their players, coaches, support staff, as well as for officials and volunteers.

1. ON | West Ottawa SC
2. NS | Western Halifax FC
3. QC | Rapides Chaudière-Ouest
4. NS | Suburban FC
5. BC | Surrey BB5 United
6. AB | Edmonton Scottish SC
7. MB | FC Winnipeg Lions
8. NL | Feildians AA St. John’s
9. PE | Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC
10. NB | Fredericton Picaroons Reds