Canada Soccer

Canadian Soccer League announces award winners

Posted on 27 October 2009 in Awards & Recognition

Serbian White Eagles' forward Sasa Viciknez has been named Canadian Soccer League Most Valuable Player for the 2009 season. The 35-year old Viciknez wins the award for the second time in his career, having first won the title in 2006.

Viciknez was one of several Canadian Soccer League award winners announced at season's end. Viciknez's teammates also won awards: Mirko Medic won CSL Defender of the Year while Dan Pelc won CSL Goalkeeper of the Year.

The Serbian White Eagles reached the 2009 CSL final, but lost to the Attak Trois-Rivières. From the Attak, rookie Redo Agourram won both the Top Goalscorer and Rookie of the Year awards. Coach Philippe Eullafroy won Coach of the Year honours.

Other award winners were Armand Di Fruscio for the Harry Paul Gauss Award, Justin Tasev for the CSL Referee of the Year award and TFC Academy for the Fair Play and Respect Award.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer