Canada Soccer

Canada to compete in CONCACAF Beach Soccer

Posted on 19 November 2010 in Beach Soccer Team

Canada will compete in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup - CONCACAF Qualifier this 1-5 December 2010 in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. The confederation championship will feature eight teams and qualify two teams for next year’s FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Italy.

This year, the CONCACAF field has been expanded from six to eight teams. In 2009, Costa Rica and El Salvador both advanced from CONCACAF to compete in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Dubai 2009. Neither team advanced beyond the group phase.

The eight teams in the 2010 competition are Canada, Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Bahamas, Jamaica and Guatemala. This marks the third consecutive time that Puerto Vallarta has hosted the CONCACAF championship.

While the competition begins 1 December, the draw of eight teams into two groups will be announced on 24 November.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer