Canada Soccer

Canada reconfirms roster for CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship

Posted on 11 June 2009 in Beach Soccer Team

Canada has reconfirmed its roster for the upcoming CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Coach Ross Ongaro has named 11 players for the six-team tournament which runs 17-21 June. The confederation championship will send two teams to the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Dubai 2009.
Canada had announced its roster back in April for what was originally scheduled to be a 29 April to 3 May championship. The tournament, however, was postponed due to concerns of the swine flu in Mexico. The new roster features three changes: Marco Terminesi, Kyriakos Selaidopoulos and Jocelyn Roy have been replaced by Paul Dhaliwal, Jason Miniaci and Darko Kolic. Giuliano Oliveiro was a late deletion because of an injury.
“The roster need to be changed due to the short notice of the participation in the qualifiers,” says coach Ross Ongaro. Both Dhaliwal and Miniaci represented Canada at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio de Janeiro 2006.
In the preliminary round of the championship, Canada will face Mexico on 17 June and El Salvador on 18 June. The top-two teams in the group advance to the semi-final stage with the semi-final winners advancing to the final and qualifying for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup.
1- G- Greg Bonar
2- G- Jaswinder Gill
3- M- Chris Lemire
4- D- Kurt Bosch
5- M- Ian Diaz
6- F- Paul Dhaliwal
7- M- Jason Miniaci
8- M- Kyle Yamada
9- Darko Kolic
10- Jonathan Di Buono
12- F- Sipho Sibiya
Head Coach / Entraîneur-chef : Ross Ongaro
Manager / Gérant : Christian Prevost
Head of delegation / Chef de délégation : Charlie Cuzzetto

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer