Canada Soccer

Canada announces Beach Soccer roster

Posted on 16 April 2009 in Beach Soccer Team

Canada's men's beach soccer team has announced its roster for the 2009 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship. Coach Ross Ongaro has selected 12 players for the six-team tournament which runs this 29 April to 3 May in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. The top-two teams in the championship will qualify for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Dubai 2009.

"The experience of qualifying into the quarter-final stage of the FIFA World Cup Rio 2006 will help our players prepare for the challenges ahead in 2009," said head coach Ross Ongaro. "Much ground will need to be covered, but the players will represent Canada with class and pride."

This will be Canada's first participation since 2006 when the team finished second and qualified for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio 2006. In Brazil, Canada reached the quarter-final stage. The FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Dubai 2009 runs 16-22 November in the United Arab Emirates.

Canada, Bahamas, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Mexico and USA will take part in the 2009 CONCACAF championship. The draw for the championship will take place next week on 22 April.

1- G- Gregory Bonar
3- D- Joe Di Buono
4- D- Kyle Yamada
6- M- Marco Terminesi
8- F- Kyriakos Selaidopoulos
9- M- Chris Lemire
10- G- Sipho Sibiya
11- M- Kurt Bosch
14- M- Ian Diaz
21- D- Giuliano Oliviero
22- G- Jaswinder Gill
F- Jocelyn Roy

Head Coach / Entraîneur-chef : Ross Ongaro
Manager / Gérant : Christian Prevost
Head of Delegation / Chef de la délégation : Charlie Cuzzetto

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer